Personal Branding. How Personal Should we Get?

The past 3 weeks have been the most difficult in my life with my brother’s sudden “exit from the planet.” As I slowly get back to my life, I’m reflecting on how powerful social media has been during this time.

When we are building our personal brand, how personal should we get?

Always “keep it real” when it comes to your brand. And sometimes that means revealing a slice of your life beyond your business endeavors.

The whole idea behind this new kind of branding is to let your audience know YOU. The REAL you. But you don’t have to exploit your personal life like a “Real Housewife of  Orange County, Atlanta, New Jersey, New York” etc…

My advice? Incorporate some personal information with your brand. Make it relevant. Like this blog I wrote called:

The Healing Power of Social Media. I was astounded by the outpouring of support by so many of my Facebook “friends” including a prayer from a young guy in Pakistan whom I didn’t know at all. It got me thinking about crises in this new virtually connected world.

Although I passionately believe in the power of the human touch (as I wrote about in my recent post Tragedy. Social Media. The Human Touch.) and in the importance of a phone call or a visit from a friend in time of grief, the NEXT best thing can be a comment, an email, or even heartfelt words in a friend request on Facebook adding a great feeling of support around the world.

SizzleCaster Tip: Don’t be afraid to share your story, or integrate a challenging event in your life in a post on your blog (even if your blog is purely business related). And, who knows? In addition to adding depth to your Personal Brand, you might just help someone else along the way.

Click here to find out more about turning your passion into your personal brand.

-Tracy Pattin

Please check out my brother’s tribute site, inmemoryofjosephpattin.com. Feel free to write in the “guestbook.”

Leave a Reply

